Womenz Magazine

Glamour Women of the Year: Dame Helen Mirren Wins Icon Award

Glamour Women of the Year Award

Dame Helen Mirren won the Icon award at the annual Glamour Women of the Year Awards on Tuesday night (03.06.14). The Oscar-winning actress, 68, was thrilled to be presented with the prize by Ryan Reynolds, with whom she is currently filming ‘The Woman In Gold,’ and used her moment on stage to urge young stars not to be afraid of getting older.Dame Helen Mirren Wins Glamour Women of the YearShe said: “There are a lot of really young women here who are very beautiful, incredibly talented, and I salute you and respect you all. I’m so proud to be a member of your sex. “Your 40s are good. Your 50s are great. Your 60s are fab. And 70 is f**king awesome. I’m not quite there yet, but almost.” Davina McCall was named Glamour Hero for her gruelling 500-mile cycle, swim and running journey from Edinburgh to London in February, which raised £1 million for Sports Relief, and ‘Orange Is The New Black’ actress Taylor Schilling, 29, won the Editor’s Special Award.

Other big winners included ‘Grace of Monaco’ actress Nicole Kidman, who won the Outstanding Contribution award, and Taylor Swift, who was awarded Best International Solo Artist, but neither of them were able to attend the glittering ceremony. Supermodel Naomi Campbell, Little Mix, singer Paloma Faith, presenter Emma Willis, ‘Modern Family’ star Sarah Hyland and ‘Godzilla’ actress Sally Hawkins also picked up prizes. ‘The Hunger Games’ star Sam Claflin – who plays Finnick Odair in the franchise – was named the Man of the Year at the ceremony, which was presented by Graham Norton in London’s Berkeley Square Gardens.

Full List of Glamour Women of the Year Winners:

UK Solo Artist – Paloma Faith

Fashion Designer – Simone Rocha

TV Personality – Naomi Campbell

Presenter – Emma Willis

Sportswoman – Christine Ohuruogu

Comedy Actress – Sarah Hyland

Columnist – Jane Moore

International Solo Artist – Taylor Swift

Film Maker – Lake Bell

Radio Personality – Fearne Cotton

Next Breakthrough – Lily James

Accessories Designer – Katie Hillier

Band – Little Mix

UK TV Actress – Jenna Coleman

Writer – Helen Fielding

Theatre Actress – Billie Piper

Outstanding Contribution – Nicole Kidman

International TV Actress – Emily Vancamp

Entrepreneur – Alexa Chung

Man of the Year – Sam Claflin

Editor’s Special Award – Taylor Schilling

Glamour Hero – Davina McCall

Film Actress – Sally Hawkins

Glamour Icon – Dame Helen Mirren

Related posts

Kelly Osbourne still dreams of Luke Worrall


Eva Longoria: ‘I was the Black Sheep in My Family’

Alex Jane

Scarlett Johansson: Christmas is Like Family Get Together

Alex Jane